

**College Governance Council** Wednesday, May 22, 2013 2:10-4:00 pm, Building 4, Room 4343

# **Approved Minutes**

Attendance: Linda Allen, Joi Blake, Kate Browne, Barbara Daley, Sarah Perkins, Regina Stanback Stroud

Absent: Leigh Anne Shaw, Katelyn Smathers, Jose Luis Sanchez Sosa

Guest: Donna Bestock, Bridget Fischer, Vince Meschi, Jim Petromilli, Christine Roumbanis

**Recorder:** Theresa Tentes

# Approval of April 24, 2013 Minutes

(M/S/U Kate Browne/Barbara Daley) The CGC approved the April 24, 2013 minutes with Leigh Anne Shaw's corrections.

### **Classified Council Report**

Barbara Daley reported to CGC that at the recent Classified Council meeting Christine Roumbanis presented the Accreditation Self Evaluation draft for approval. The Classified Council unanimously approved the draft. Also discussed at the meeting were the elections for the new members of the Classified Council Executive Board and shared a document that would provide job descriptions for each Executive Board member. The Classified Council will be planning a summer retreat for all Classified Staff.

# ASSC Report

Vince Meschi reported on behalf of the ASSC. The 2013-2014 ASSC elections are completed and the new President and Vice President are President Kayla Razavi and Vice President Priscilla Sanchez. Some positions are still opened and they hope to be filled in the Fall. The ASSC is working with Amory with Scholarships and the Commencement Ceremony. The ASSC approved \$10,000 to collaborate with the College Lecture Series. They also approved the Accreditation Self Evaluation Draft.

Kate Browne thanked the ASSC for their assistance with the ECE Department Graduation.

### Academic Senate

Leigh Anne Shaw was unable to attend the CGC meeting but did send in her report from Academic Senate.

The Senate approved the Accreditation Draft 3 at its last meeting. They also heard from the PETF on their work thus far. A very detailed report was provided by Nina Floro, who indicated that faculty would receive drafts to review in the fall and an opportunity to comment. This was

received well by the Senate and Professor Floro was asked to convey her thanks to the PETF for their work and her report.

The new marketing procedures were discussed. Concerns arose regarding the sameness of the emails that go out to the campus to advertise events. The worry is that the sameness of each message might have the opposite effect and might cause people to ignore information because it all looks the same. Also raised: What voice do faculty have in marketing campaigns? For example, the "Closer than you think" campaign choice to feature individual faculty/administration on the covers is a lovely tribute, but does it reflect our Students First philosophy? How do faculty give input into marketing? It was also noted that students do not have access to Skyline Shines, which could be a good marketing tool to them.

After some discussion and concern over the number of committees on campus, the senate approved the creation of the Accreditation Oversight Committee.

The Academic Senate chose George Wright to be the Faculty Marshall at Commencement. At the End of the Year Celebration, the Senate honored Mel Zucker and George Wright, retirees, as well as the Accreditation Steering Committee members Christine Roumbanis, Donna Bestock, Nancy Kaplan-Biegel, and Dennis Wolbers for their work. Dennis Wolbers and Bob McCoy were also honored for their work on the SLOAC.

The Academic Senate Governing council for Fall 2013 will be: Leigh Anne Shaw, President; Kate Williams Browne, Vice President; Tiffany Schmierer, Treasurer; Curriculum Co-chairs Nick Kapp and Jacqui Escobar; Research Chair Mousa Ghanma; Professional Personnel Chair Zach Bruno; Educational Policy chair and Secretary are both vacant.

### Accreditation Self Evaluation

Dr. Sarah F. Perkins addressed the CGC regarding the Accreditation Self Evaluation final draft. The timeline for approval of the draft is as follows:

June 17:	The Self Evaluation will be presented to the Board of Trustees Study
	Session to give an update of the draft.
June 26:	A hard copy of the Self Evaluation will be given to the Board of Trustees.
July 24:	Board Of Trustees approve the report.
Week after July 24: The final, signed Self Evaluation will be sent to the ACCJC.	

The report is substantially finished. Donna Bestock and Christine Roumbanis have visited each constituent group for their approval.

(M/S/U Joi Blake/Linda Allen.) CGC approved the draft of the Accreditation Self Evaluation.

### **Technology Plan**

Dr. Regina Stanback Stroud thanked Jim Petromilli and Bridget Fischer for their work on the Technology Plan. Bridget shared that the Technology Plan was driven by the Technology Advisory Committee. The College of San Mateo, Cañada College and City College of San Francisco are using our plan as a model. Jim Petromilli stated that the Technology Plan needs to be reviewed and reassessed each year. He said that the Skyline College Technology Plan has been reviewed by the District Office, ITS, IPC, ILT, SSLT and Technology Advisory Committee. IPC has recommended the plan to CGC for approval.

(M/S/U Sarah Perkins/Barbara Daley – Linda Allen Abstained.) CGC approved the Technology Plan. All constituent groups supported the plan.

Dr. Joi Blake commended Jim Petromilli on an excellent job presenting the plan to the Student Services Leadership Team and explaining the plan thoroughly.

Jim Petromilli thanked the Skyline College Leadership for their support.

## **Accreditation Oversight Committee**

Dr. Stanback Stroud reported that at the last CGC meeting Dr. Perkins presented the idea of creating an Accreditation Oversight Committee.

(M/S/U Joi Blake/Linda Allen) CGC approved the establishment of the Accreditation Oversight Committee and adding it to the Participatory Governance List.

All constituent groups unanimously approved the addition of the Accreditation Oversight Committee to the Participatory Governance.

### **Skyline Shines Award**

CGC considered the nominations for the Employee Award and the Community Award. An individual was selected for each one. The winners will be announced at the opening day ceremony.

### **College Council Annual Report**

Dr. Regina Stanback Stroud explained to the CGC members that each year a College Council Annual Report is created using the approved minutes from each meeting. The annual report will be available on the CGC website

(M/S/U Kate Browne/Linda Allen) The CGC approved the CGC Annual Report with directions to add the approved minutes from the April 24 meeting and to add the May 22 approved minutes in the Fall to finalize the document.

### **Adjourned**

Dr. Regina Stanback Stroud thanked the constituent groups for a productive year. One of the first conversations next Fall will be the Staffing Plan. Currently the Staffing Plan is with the IPC for their review.

The Classified Council thanked the Managers for supporting Classified Staff with attending Participatory Governance Committee meetings.

Meeting adjourned at 3:15 p.m.