



Minutes of Strategic Planning and Allocation of Resources Committee Held on December 10, 2020 Zoom

Chairs Present:

Eloisa Briones, Ingrid Vargas

Members Present:

Belinda Chan (substituting for Kathy Fitzpatrick), Luis Escobar, Lucy Jovel, Nancy Kaplan-Biegel, Barbara Lamson, Joe Morello, Athena Nazario, Shaun Perisho, Nicole Porter, Bianca Rowden-Quince, Jennifer Taylor-Mendoza, Andrea Vizenor, Miranda Wang, Russell Waldon, Kenyatta Weathersby, Karen Wong

Guests Present:

Aaron McVean, Vice Chancellor of Educational Services and Planning Chris Gibson, Dean of Language Arts

Ernesto Hernandez, Interim Director of Guided Pathways and Comprehensive Redesign Brittney Sneed, Interim Program Services Coordinator of Strategic Partnerships & Workforce Development

Members Absent:

Rachel Bell, Zachery Bruno, Connor Fitzpatrick, Filipp Gleyzer, Melissa Komadina, Dino Nomicos, Sonya Pope, Gabe Saucedo, Leigh Anne Shaw, Yiya Wang

Resource Persons Present:

Paul Cassidy, Belinda Chan (co-Recorder), Judy Hutchinson (co-Recorder), Zahra Mojtahedi

1. GENERAL FUNCTIONS

1.1. Call to Order

Ingrid Vargas called the regular meeting to order at 2:12 p.m.

2. ACTION ITEM(S)

2.1. Approve Agenda

A motion was made by Karen Wong and seconded by Nancy Kaplan-Biegel to approve the December 10, 2020 agenda. Motion carried unanimously.

2.2. Approve Minutes

The November 12, 2020 minutes were approved as written.

3. DISCUSSION/REPORT

3.1. District Strategic Plan

The District Strategic Plan (DSP) is in the update process by the District Strategic Plan Steering Committee. Vice Chancellor Aaron McVean provided a comprehensive overview of the DSP and highlighted its focus.

Some of the districtwide strategies included:

- Focus on addressing equity gaps
- Continue to implement on Guided Pathways
- Fully implement and optimize the Salesforce CRM
- Sustainability initiatives in response to climate change



See <u>District Strategic Plan Presentation Fall 2020</u> and <u>District Strategic Plan Update</u> for details. Commentaries can be sent to Ingrid Vargas by the end of January 2021.

3.2. FTEF Prioritization

Vice President of Instruction Jennifer Taylor-Mendoza apprised the FTEF Prioritization process, which began in September. This year, 18 positions were requested for AY 2020-2021. A determination of the number of positions that the College can fill this year is pending. SPARC will be informed when the decision is finalized.

3.3. Comprehensive Program Review (CPR) Templates Review and Final Changes

Karen Wong shared the work that the CPR Template Taskforce group covered, and presented drafts of both instructional and student services templates for discussion.

Five key structures of the templates include:

- Connect to the College
- Current Status
- Access
- Effectiveness
- Action Plan

SPARC members made several minor edits to the templates through a consensus process. The Committee emphasized the templates should be piloted during 2021-2022, and amended as needed thereafter.

Ingrid Vargas expressed gratitude to Karen Wong, Leigh Anne Shaw and the CPR Template Taskforce Group members for their dedication and contribution.

4. ACTION ITEM(S)

4.1. Adoption of the Comprehensive Program Review (CPR) Templates

Ingrid Vargas made a motion, which was seconded by Joe Morello, to recommend that the College Governance Council (CGC) approve the CPR templates as amended for piloting starting in spring 2021. Motion carried unanimously.

See Comprehensive Program Review (CPR) Templates Finalization for the adopted templates.

5. DISCUSSION/REPORT

5.1. Fiscal Outlook & Preliminary FY21/22 Projections

Eloisa Briones presented the highlights of the <u>Legislative Analyst's Office (LAO)'s fiscal outlook</u> and <u>San Mateo County Community College District (SMCCCD)'s Preliminary Fund One Budget Scenarios.</u>

6. ANNOUNCEMENT

There was no announcement.

7. NEXT REGULAR MEETING

Next regular meeting will be held on Thursday, January 28, 2021 at 2:10 p.m.

8. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, Barbara Lamson moved to adjourn the meeting, which was seconded by Jennifer Taylor-Mendoza. The December 10, 2020 meeting was adjourned at 4:01 p.m.

Minutes were approved by Members on January 28, 2021.